Kettleburgh Parish Council

A Parish Council is the most locally elected body within the English system of local government.  Most  were formed by the Local Government Act in 1894 and they look after the interests of those who live within the parish.

More information on local councils in England, the role of local councillors and what you need to do if you would like to stand as a candidate in local parish or town council elections is available in the Booklets and Resources section on the National Association of Local Councils web site.

Kettleburgh Parish Council is the first tier of a three tier system of local government, with Suffolk Coastal District Council and Suffolk County Council being the next two tiers, all elected by people within the region.

Kettleburgh Parish Council has eight members elected every four years, the most recent election was held on the 5th May 2011.

The Council employs a Clerk, who is also the Responsible Finance Officer.

The Council has a set of rules called Standing Orders by which the Council, its elected Members and its Officers conduct their activities. 

The role of the Parish Council is to represent the local community, provide services to meet local needs and improve quality of life and community well being.

The Parish Council  meets every three months.  Meetings are held in the Village Hall, usually on Wednesdays and begin with refreshments at 7:15pm.  Before the Council meeting starts there is an open session when parishioners are invited to raise any issues of interest or concern. You will also have the opportunity to talk to Peter Bellfield and Bob Snell, your County and District Councillors and our local PCSO Christian Hassler.  Members of the public are always welcome to attend.

Your  Parish Councillors and how to contact them:

John Bater

Church Farm

Deborah Bell

5 Church Road

Tim Chase

Home Farm, Brandeston Road

Heidi Finbow

Medlar Cottage, The Street

Debbie Germain

The Chequers Inn

David Harris - Chairman

Watermill House, Mill Lane

Nick Hulme

Copyhold Cottage, Low Street

Trevor Jessop - Vice Chairman

The Old Brewhouse, Easton Rd.


Useful email addresses:

Parish Clerk: Martin Sims

County Councillor: Peter Bellfield

District Councillor: Bob Snell

Police - Safer Neighbourhoods Team: -

Community Police Officer: Mark Bryant

Police Community Support Officer: Christian Hassler

Neighbourhood Watch: Post Currently Vacant



Suffolk Coastal District Council  
Suffolk County Council

Councillors' Register of Interest forms

-add him to Reg of Interests and ensure he is contacted to fill it in

Parish Council Information

You can read minutes from Council Meetings, Annual Parish Meetings, past copies of the Parish council newsletters and the Welcome pack:

Parish Council Documents

The Parish Council has a set of Standing Orders and Financial Regulations